Castle named 57th District Player of the Year

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

SALYERSVILLE - The 57th District Press Association has named Magoffin County senior guard Jamie Castle the 57th District Girls' Basketball Player of the Year. Joining Castle on the 57th District Press Association First Team are teammates Jazzy Howard and Leslee Howard. Another teammate, Madison Reed, earned a spot on the 57th District Press Association Second Team.

After guiding Johnson Central to the 57th District title, Darrin Rice was named the 57th District Press Association Coach of the Year. The Darrin Rice-coached Johnson Central Lady Eagles finished runner-up behind Shelby Valley in the 15th Region. 

Castle averaged 22 points, three assists, three rebounds and three steals per game for the Lady Hornets during her senior season. She has led the Magoffin County girls' basketball program in scoring since her freshman year. Earlier in the month, the Kentucky Association of Basketball Coaches (KABC) honored Castle as the 15th Region Player of the Year. 

Other 57th District Press Association First Team honorees are Emily Waller (Sheldon Clark), Kerrigan Samons (Paintsville) and Lauren Delong (Johnson Central).

Accompanying Reed on the 57th District Press Association Second Team are Rachel Hall (Johnson Central), Jayla Spurlock (Johnson Central), Kelsey Garcia (Sheldon Clark) and Hope Lafferty (Johnson Central).

Magoffin County wrapped up another 20-plus wins season earlier in the month.

In his second season as head coach of the Magoffin County girls' basketball team, Scott Castle guided the Lady Hornets to a 23-6 overall record. The Scott Castle-coached Lady Hornets compiled a perfect regular-season district record. Magoffin County finished runner-up to Johnson Central in the 57th District Tournament and reached the semifinals of the 15th Region Tournament.

The Lady Hornets' 2013-14 season also included a win over Franklin County, which was ranked in the state's Top 10 when the two teams met.

Scott County was honored as the 15th Region Coach of the Year earlier in the month.

Johnson Central, Lawrence County, Magoffin County, Paintsville and Sheldon Clark make up the 57th District.