Citizens National Bank Awards MVPs for 08-09 Basketball Season

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

– Citizens National Bank management and employees ask local sports fans to join them in congratulating the 28 outstanding players who have been selected as Citizens National Bank Most Valuable Players (MVPs) for the 2008-2009 high school basketball season.
A total of 28 MVP awards were announced based on their performances throughout the season.
CNB and its radio station partners, WSIP, WQHY, WKLW and WRLV are pleased to announce the following players were named CNB All County MVPs and the All Big Sandy Basketball MVP.
Floyd County – Jody Tackett (Prestonsburg High School)
Johnson County – Ian Welch (Johnson Central High School)
Magoffin County – Zachary Sparks (Magoffin County High School)
Paintsville – Trevor Tiller (Paintsville High School)
The 2008-2009 season All Big Sandy MVP was, Johnson County – Ian Welch (Johnson Central High School)
In the name of all 2008-2009 basketball MVPs, Citizens National Bank donated more than $3,500 to the general education scholarship fund at the high schools listed.
This is the seventh season that CNB has sponsored this basketball and education rewards program.
Founded by CNB in 2002, it recognizes local basketball and football high school athletes by donating money to the general education scholarship funds for outstanding athletic performances
"Citizens National Bank is proud of the 28 athletes who have performed well on the court," said CNB President and CEO Dennis T. Dorton. "Every aspect of a child’s education is a valuable learning tool for preparing him or her for the future." We want to do what we are able to make these educational opportunities available to Big Sandy students."