KHSAA headed into final season before realignment

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

SALYERSVILLE - The Magoffin County Hornets will open preseason practice later this month in preparation for the 2014 high school football season, which will kick off in late-August.

Currently, Kentucky high school football teams are taking a break with the Kentucky High School Athletic Association's Dead Period. Kentucky high school football is set to take on a different look in many districts. The KHSAA will realign prior to the 2015 season. 

Magoffin County will return several players from its 2013 campaign.  

The Hornets will once again compete in Class 3A, District 7. The District 7 field also features Breathitt County, Jackson County, Knott County Central and Morgan County.

Magoffin County finished the 2013 season with a 6-5 record. The Hornets, under the direction of new head coach Scotty McCoy, hosted the first playoff game in school history. 

Magoffin County posted regular-season wins over South Floyd, Allen Central, Estill County, Knott County Central, Jackson County and Morgan County in 2013.  

High school football teams from around the state will return to practice later in the month. The current Kentucky high school football alignment follows. 

Class 1A
District 1 – Fulton City, Fulton County, Mayfield, Russellville.
District 2 – Bethlehem, Caverna, Holy Cross (Louisville), Kentucky Country Day.
District 3 – Bracken County, Eminence, Frankfort, Paris.
District 4 – Beechwood, Bellevue, Dayton, Ludlow.
District 5 – Berea, Campbellsville, Lynn Camp, Williamsburg.
District 6 – Harlan, Hazard, Jenkins, Pineville.
District 7 – Fairview, Nicholas County, Paintsville, Raceland.
District 8 – Allen Central, Phelps, Pikeville, South Floyd.
Class 2A
District 1 – Ballard Memorial, Caldwell County, Crittenden County, Murray.
District 2 – Butler County, Hancock County, McLean County, Owensboro Catholic, Todd County Central, Union County.
District 3 – Clinton County, Glasgow, Green County, Metcalfe County.
District 4 – Bardstown, Christian Academy-Louisville, DeSales, Fort Knox, Shawnee, Thomas Nelson, Washington County.
District 5 – Carroll County, Gallatin County, Owen County, Trimble County, Walton-Verona.
District 6 – Bishop Brossart, Holy Cross (Covington), Lloyd Memorial, Newport, Newport Central Catholic.
District 7 – Danville, Lexington Christian, Middlesboro, Somerset.
District 8 – Betsy Layne, Leslie County, Prestonsburg, Shelby Valley.
Class 3A
District 1 – Fort Campbell, PaducahTilghman, Trigg County, Webster County.
District 2 – Adair County, Edmonson County, Hart County, Monroe County, South Warren.
District 3 – Central, Elizabethtown, Henry County, Larue County.
District 4 – Bell County, Casey County, Corbin, McCreary Central, Wayne County.
District 5 – Bath County, Bourbon County, Estill County, Garrard County, Powell County, Western Hills.
District 6 – East Carter, Fleming County, Lewis County, Mason County, Russell, West Carter.
District 7 – Breathitt County, Jackson County, Knott County Central, Magoffin County, Morgan County.
District 8 – Belfry, Lawrence County, Pike County Central, Sheldon Clark.
Class 4A
District 1 – Calloway County, Hopkins County Central, Madisonville-North Hopkins, Owensboro.
District 2 – Allen County-Scottsville, Breckinridge County, Franklin-Simpson, Warren East.
District 3 – Atherton, Collins, North Oldham, Spencer County, Waggener.
District 4 – Doss, Fairdale, Moore, Nelson County, Valley, Western.
District 5 – Boyle County, Lexington Catholic, Marion County, Mercer County, Taylor County.
District 6 – Clay County, Knox Central, Rockcastle County, Russell County.
District 7 – Covington Catholic, Harrison County, Highlands, Holmes.
District 8 – Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, Greenup County, Johnson Central, Rowan County.
Class 5A
District 1 – Apollo, Christian County, Graves County, Hopkinsville, Ohio County.
District 2 – Barren County, Bowling Green, Greenwood, Logan County, Warren Central.
District 3 – Grayson County, Iroquois, Jeffersontown, John Hardin, North Hardin.
District 4 – Bullitt Central, Bullitt East, North Bullitt, Shelby County.
District 5 – Conner, Cooper, Grant County, Scott, South Oldham.
District 6 – Anderson County, East Jessamine, Franklin County, Montgomery County, West Jessamine, Woodford County.
District 7 – Lincoln County, Madison Southern, North Laurel, Pulaski County, South Laurel, Southwestern.
District 8 – Harlan County, Letcher County Central, Perry County Central, Whitley County.
Class 6A
District 1 – Daviess County, Henderson County, Marshall County, McCracken County.
District 2 – Central Hardin, Meade County, Muhlenberg County.
District 3 – Butler, Pleasure Ridge Park, Seneca, Southern.
District 4 – DuPont Manual, Male, St. Xavier, Trinity (Louisville).
District 5 – Ballard, Eastern, Fern Creek, Oldham County.
District 6 – Boone County, Campbell County, Dixie Heights, Ryle, Simon Kenton.
District 7 – Bryan Station, Henry Clay, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Scott County.
District 8 – George Rogers Clark, Lafayette, Madison Central, Tates Creek.
Not competing for district title – Pendleton County.