Trophy Fishing Show

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

Trophy fishing show is fit for print this weekend on “Kentucky Afield” TV
FRANKFORT – One standout fishing opportunity has “Kentucky Afield” television and Kentucky Afield magazine doing double duty at Lake Barkley this weekend, June 27 and 28, on KET.
Trophy fisheries have always attracted the spotlight. Fishing guide Jim Doom shows us why. Redear sunfish keep the cameras rolling and the shutters snapping as the live well fills.
We talk with Kentucky Afield magazine artist/photographer Rick Hill about the hooks his magazine will cover, and to “Kentucky Afield” television host Tim Farmer, who brings the limelight to life on TV.
A little farther east, hybrid striped bass have caught our eye. At Rough River Lake, Jeff Bratcher shows Farmer the lure these lunkers like best.
Lastly is part III of our three-part series on the history of hunting and fishing. Enter the era of habitat and species restoration, harvest regulations and the virtues of modern wildlife management in Kentucky and beyond.
“Kentucky Afield” is a production of the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife. It is the longest continuously-running outdoor television show in the nation.
The program airs Saturday at 8:30 p.m. Eastern /7:30 p.m. Central and is repeated Sunday at 4 p.m. Eastern/3 p.m. Central on KET 1 and on the Internet at fw.ky.gov.
To see the latest news about “Kentucky Afield” television and view your favorite show segments from the past, sign up today for the electronic newsletter. Visit fw.ky.gov on the Internet and click the Kentucky Afield Newsletter icon.