Candidates request recanvass

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

SALYERSVILLE - A recanvass has been requested in several of the Magoffin County Primary Election races, including the democratic county judge executive race, in which H.B. Arnett won by three votes last week.

By law, all requests for a recanvass had to be filed with the county clerk's office by Tuesday afternoon, with the recanvass automatically set for the Thursday afterward at 9 a.m. By Wednesday morning, Dr. Charles Hardin, Terry Hensley, Garrett Ward and Kellie Miller had all filed for a recanvass of all the precincts related to their respective races.

Per KRS Statute 117.305, "After this time period has elapsed and notice is taken, the county election board shall assemble at 9 a.m. on the Thursday following the filing deadline to request a recanvass, and not sooner, and recheck and recanvass each machine and make a proper return thereof to the county clerk, and the canvass and return shall become the official returns for the election. In making the recanvass, the board shall make a record of the number of the seal upon the voting machine and,  without unlocking the machine against voting, recanvass the vote cast thereon. If, after a recanvass, it is found that the original canvass of the returns has been correctly made from the machine, and that there still remains a discrepancy unaccounted for, this discrepancy shall be noted. If, upon recanvass, it appears that the original canvass of the returns by the election officers was incorrect, the returns and all papers being prepared by the board shall be corrected accordingly."

The recanvass has been set for Thursday, May 29 at 9 a.m. in the Fiscal Court Room of the Magoffin County Courthouse.

When the votes came in last Tuesday, incumbent Judge Executive Hardin lost by three votes, with 2,019 votes to H.B. Arnett's 2,022. If the results stay the same, Arnett will go up against republican John Montgomery in November for the judge executive title.

Terry Hensley, republican candidate for magistrate district 1, lost to Brandon "Chicken Wing" Minix by 16 votes, 214 to 198. Hensley carried two of the four precincts in district 1. The winner of that race will be on the ballot against incumbent Gary "Rooster" Risner (D). 

Democratic candidate for magistrate district 2 Garrett Ward lost by 106 votes to incumbent Pernell "Buck" Lemaster. When the votes were first counted Election night, Ward was believed to be within 46 votes of Lemaster, however, the numbers had been transcribed incorrectly the first time, widening the gap. Ward did carry two of the five precincts in district 2. Lemaster is set to go up against Johnny Bentley in the fall for the seat on the fiscal court.

Kellie Lee Miller, democratic candidate for magistrate district 3, lost to Matthew Chalmer Wireman by a total of 56 votes on May 20. A former magistrate, Miller won two of the five precincts in the district. If the results stay the same, Wireman will go up against incumbent Ronnie Lovely (R), who won the Primary by only five votes to Robert Lee Patrick. 

While a change in the outcome of an election is rare with a recanvass, it is possible and slight differences in totals are common. The Independent will report the results of the recanvass by Thursday afternoon on For updates as they become available, follow the SI on Facebook and Twitter!