Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Salyersville Independent


Morgan County withdraws from district

WEST LIBERTY — Morgan County will not compete in a district during the 2023 and 2024 high school football seasons.

Following the Kentucky High School Athletic Association’s latest football realignment, Morgan County has withdrawn from its district in Class 3A.

However, Magoffin County will still meet rival Morgan County during the regular season. The Hornets and Cougars are slated to meet for a regular season finale in Salyersville on Friday, Oct. 27.

Magoffin County defeated Morgan County 40-34 in its 2022 regular season finale.

In addition to Morgan County, Jackson County (Class 2A) and Phelps (Class 1A) won’t compete in a district during the 2023 and 2024 high school football seasons.

The KHSAA football alignment for the 2023 and 2024 seasons follows.

Class 1A
District 1 – Ballard Memorial, Caverna, Fulton County, Russellville
District 2 – Bethlehem, Campbellsville, Holy Cross (Louisville), Kentucky Country Day
District 3 – Bellevue, Dayton, Newport, Newport Central Catholic
District 4 – Bishop Brossart, Holy Cross (Covington), Ludlow, Trimble County
District 5 – Berea, Eminence, Frankfort, Sayre
District 6 – Fairview, Nicholas County, Paris, Raceland
District 7* – Harlan, Lynn Camp, Middlesboro, Pineville, Williamsburg
District 8* – Hazard, Paintsville, Pikeville
* – The fifth place team in District 7 will become the fourth place team
in District 7 for the purpose of playoff cross-bracketing

Class 2A
District 1 – Caldwell County, Crittenden County, Mayfield, Murray
District 2 – Edmonson County, Fort Campbell, Owensboro Catholic, Todd County Central
District 3 – Clinton County, Green County, Metcalfe County, Monroe County
District 4 – Fort Knox, Lexington Christian, Shawnee, Washington County, WEB DuBois**
District 5 – Beechwood, Bracken County, Carroll County, Gallatin County, Owen County, Walton-Verona
District 6 – Breathitt County, Danville, Leslie County, Somerset
District 7 – Floyd Central, Knott County Central, Martin County, Prestonsburg
District 8 – Betsy Layne, East Ridge, Pike County Central, Shelby Valley
**- Not eligible for district postseason competition until at least 2024

Class 3A
District 1 – Hancock County, Hopkins County Central, McLean County, Trigg County, Union County, Webster County
District 2 – Adair County, Butler County, Franklin-Simpson, Glasgow, Hart County
District 3 – Central, Christian Academy-Louisville, Elizabethtown, LaRue County
District 4 – Casey County, Garrard County, Marion County, Mercer County
District 5 – Bourbon County, Lexington Catholic, Lloyd Memorial, Pendleton County
District 6 – Bath County, East Carter, Fleming County, Lewis County, Russell, West Carter
District 7 – Bell County, Clay County, Knox Central, McCreary Central, Rockcastle County
District 8 – Belfry, Estill County, Lawrence County, Magoffin County, Powell County

Class 4A
District 1 – Allen County-Scottsville, Calloway County, Hopkinsville, Logan County, Paducah Tilghman, Warren East
District 2 – Bardstown, Breckinridge County, John Hardin, Nelson County, Thomas Nelson
District 3 – DeSales, Doss, Jeffersontown, Valley, Waggener, Western
District 4 – Franklin County, Henry County, North Oldham, Shelby County, Spencer County, Western Hills
District 5 – Covington Catholic, Grant County, Harrison County, Holmes, Mason County
District 6 – Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, Greenup County, Johnson Central, Rowan County
District 7 – Boyle County, Lincoln County, Russell County, Taylor County, Wayne County
District 8 – Corbin, Letcher County Central, Perry County Central, Whitley County

Class 5A
District 1 – Apollo, Graves County, Madisonville-North Hopkins, Marshall County, Muhlenberg County, Owensboro
District 2 – Bowling Green, Greenwood, Ohio County, South Warren
District 3 – Atherton, Butler, Fairdale, Iroquois
District 4 – Bullitt Central, Grayson County, Moore, North Bullitt, Seneca
District 5 – Anderson County, Collins, Scott County, South Oldham, Woodford County
District 6 – Boone County, Conner, Cooper, Dixie Heights, Highlands, Scott
District 7 – East Jessamine, Madison Southern, Montgomery County, West Jessamine
District 8 – Harlan County, North Laurel, Pulaski County, South Laurel, Southwestern

Class 6A
District 1 – Christian County, Daviess County, Henderson County, McCracken County
District 2 – Barren County, Central Hardin, North Hardin, Warren Central
District 3 – DuPont Manual, Meade County, Pleasure Ridge Park, St. Xavier
District 4 – Bullitt East, Fern Creek, Male, Southern
District 5 – Ballard, Eastern, Oldham County, Trinity (Louisville)
District 6 – Campbell County, Great Crossing, Ryle, Simon Kenton
District 7 – Henry Clay, Lafayette, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Tates Creek
District 8 – Bryan Station, Frederick Douglass, George Rogers Clark, Madison Central

For 2023, Districts 4 and 6 will be cross-bracketed for playoffs
For 2023, Districts 3 and 5 will be cross-bracketed for playoffs
For 2024, Districts 3 and 6 will be cross-bracketed for playoffs
For 2024, Districts 4 and 5 will be cross-bracketed for playoffs
Withdrawn from District – Jackson County (Class 2A), Morgan County (Class 3A), Phelps (Class 1A)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You May Also Like

Copyright © 2020 Salyersville Independent. All Rights Reserved.