Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Salyersville Independent


Hornets drop non-district game to Clay County

SALYERSVILLE – Visiting Clay County managed to double up Magoffin County 24-12 in a non-district high school football game on Friday, Oct. 22.

The Hornets slipped into the loss column after notching back-to-back Class 3A, District 8 wins over Floyd Central and Pike County Central.

Following the loss, Magoffin County dropped to 5-3.

Clay County improved to 5-4 after claiming the win.

The Tigers rushed 46 times for 280 yards and four touchdowns. Clay County featured two 100-yard rushers
Adam Collins led Clay County on the ground, rushing 22 times for 136 yards and three touchdowns.

Following Collins on the ground for Clay County, Trevor Spurlock rushed 19 times for 112 yards.

Contributing to the Tigers’ rushing attack, quarterback Tate Rice rushed five times for 32 yards and one touchdown.

Defensively for Clay County, Rice and Ethan Hensley each recorded one interception.

Quarterback Lucas Litteral led the Hornets. Through the air, Litteral completed 12 of 29 passes for 174 yards and one touchdown. Litteral, who was intercepted twice during the non-district matchup, rushed 13 times for 112 yards and one touchdown.

The Magoffin County quarterback completed at least one pass to five different receivers.

Grayson Whitaker hauled in five receptions for 77 yards for the Hornets.

Aden Barnett, who entered the game as Magoffin County’s leading receiver, reeled in four receptions for 69 yards and one touchdown.

Curtis Jenkins (20 tackles, 2 tackles for a loss), Brayden Standifer (16 tackles, 5 tackles for a loss, 1 sack) and Ian McCarty (14 tackles, 1 tackle for a loss) combined to lead the Hornets defensively.

Contributing on the defensive side for Magoffin County, Litteral recorded an interception.

Magoffin County is scheduled to host Morgan County for a regular season finale on Friday, Oct. 29.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You May Also Like

Copyright © 2020 Salyersville Independent. All Rights Reserved.