Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Salyersville Independent

Local News

City races now set for fall

SALYERSVILLE – Tuesday, June 7 was the deadline for candidates to file for the General Election, with the city council, mayor, soil and conservation, and school board races now set for November.

Incumbents Paul Montgomery, Jarrod Howard, Darrel G. Arnett and Patricia Arnett Frazier have all filed to retain their seats on the Salyersville City Council, as has David J. Vanhoose, who was appointed to fill Herbert “Tex” Holbrook’s position when he resigned last year. Colin Ray Jackson, who is currently in litigation with the mayor and the members who were on the council when was voted off the council due to misconduct surrounding the use of a racial slur in open meeting, has also filed for re-election, as has Tex Holbrook, who resigned prior to vote to remove Jackson last year. Tommy Bailey, who has served on the council previously, Mary F. Rowe, Manuel Howard, and Phyllis Howard also have filed for the city council race.

Current Mayor James “Pete” Shepherd, who has held the top city position since Stanley Howard abruptly resigned as mayor in 2010, has filed for re-election and will go up against Howard, yet, again, this fall.

The soil and water conservation board is set, with four candidates filing: Ronald Williams, Avavan Arnett Deaton, Kenneth “Poor Boy” Williams and Dallas Patrick.

Similarly, school board members Jesse L. Rudd II (District #4) and Rodney R. Ward (District 1) are both running unopposed to retain their seats on the school board.

The full candidate list can be found on A5 of this week’s paper in the Readers’ Poll, which will run until the General Election, which will be held on Tuesday, November 8. A public drawing for ballot positions will be held today, June 9 at 2 p.m. by the Magoffin County Court Clerk Renee Shepherd. The last day to register to vote in the November election is October 11.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You May Also Like

Copyright © 2020 Salyersville Independent. All Rights Reserved.