Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Salyersville Independent

Local News


The Indian Mound Chapter DAR held its 75th Anniversary Celebration on Saturday, April 30, 2022 at 1:30 PM at the Renaissance Center in downtown Salyersville.  The chapter currently has 26 members and is very active in the community in awarding DAR Good Citizenship Awards to high school seniors, awarding US Flag Certificates, Awarding Community Service Awards, Awarding money to special projects within the community such as Coats for Kids as well as presenting certificates and special pins to local veterans.


The Indian Mound Chapter has recently received awards for Service to Veterans, Chapter Spirit Awards TWICE as well as the coveted Phoenix Award.  (The Phoenix Award is given to struggling chapters who did not merge or fold but instead worked thru problems and became a thriving chapter again).




The crowd was welcomed by Judy Carter, Chapter Regent.

The Invocation was presented by Sheila Cornett, Chapter Chaplin

The Pledge to US Flag was led by Janie Griffith, member and past regent

The National Anthem was presented by Jincy Bailey, member

The American’s Creed was presented by Bess Couthitt, member

The Preamble to the Constitution was presented by Nicole Tilsley, KSCAR State Organizing Secretary

Greetings from State DAR were presented by Linda Conrad, KSDAR Vice Regent

Greetings from President General Denise Van Buren were presented by Leslie Miller, Vice President General and state Honorary State Regent as well as National Chairman of Historic Preservation

State Senator Brandon Smith (District 30) presented Greetings and a special citation to the Indian Mound Chapter.

“What is DAR” was presented by Amanda Tilsley, DAR Sixth District Director

History of the Chapter was presented by Pam Wages, Vice Regent and Treasurer

Tribute to Candace Filson Gardner (Organizing Member) was presented by Paula Clemons-Combs, member

Article of First Meeting was presented by Janie Blair, member

Special Musical Selection was presented by Kennedy Sturgill, Miss Teen Magoffin County

Historic Preservation Awards were presented by Judy Carter and Leslie Miller

Special 75th Pin award was presented to Judy Carter by Lisa Borders

Benediction & Blessing on Lunch was presented by Sheila Cornett, Chapter Chaplain




The Indian Mound Chapter was originally organized on March 8, 1947 by Candace Filson Gardner at the home of Mrs. H.H. Ramey.  The chapter was reportedly named after a local Indian Mound located in the current Dixie Addition of Salyersville, KY and currently owned by Doug & Sue Mortimer.


The chapter was originally organized with 11 of the charter members who were descendants of Jeremiah Patrick, a Revolutionary War patriot who took the oath of allegiance to Virginia on September 6, 1777.


Indian Mound met in members’ homes in the beginning as this was a good way to form bonds among members and were united with the Breathitt County Chapter around 2004.


The original officers were as follows:  Mrs. Dudley W. Gardner, Mrs. T. E. Marcum, Mrs. Buck Patrick, Mrs. E.E. Arnett, Mrs. Fred Carpenter, Mrs. E.L. Stephens, Mrs. Elizabeth Patrick, Mrs. D.B. Howard, Mrs. Raleigh Patrick and Mrs. S.L. Mann.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You May Also Like

Copyright © 2020 Salyersville Independent. All Rights Reserved.