Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Salyersville Independent

Local News

Rep. Blanton appointed as committee chair

FRANKFORT –House Representative John Blanton has been appointed as the chair of the Transportation Committee for the House, serving as the first Magoffin County-native to be appointed as a Kentucky House of Representatives committee chairman.

On Wednesday, November 30, House Speaker David Osborne and members of the House Majority Leadership announced committee chairs and co-chairs, as the members of the House of Representatives prepare to convene for the 2023 Regular Session on January 3.
Representative John Blanton was appointed as the chairman to the transportation committee.

“The transportation committee is one of the most important standing committees in the house, dealing with roadways, railways, waterways and airports,” Representative Blanton said. “My main focus will be policy and working on the state road plan.”

Blanton’s new appointment is for two years, with the possibility of being reappointed if he is reelected for another term.

“This position is vitally important for Magoffin County to have someone in a leadership role to continue to build infrastructure with the Mountain Parkway Expansion and plans to four-lane US 460,” Blanton explained. “These projects will open up Eastern Kentucky for more economic growth and industry.”

Representative Blanton explained he is honored by the appointment.

“What an honor it is for the Speaker and House leadership to choose me to lead such an important committee because it is so important to our region,” Blanton said.

Blanton, who has represented the 92nd District for the Kentucky House of Representatives since 2017, also serves on the following committees: judiciary committee; natural resources and energy committee; veterans, military affairs and public protection committee; legislative oversight and investigations committee; appropriations and revenue committee; and elections, constitutional amendments and intergovernmental affairs committee.

The Kentucky Constitution provides that lawmakers convene on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in January of each year. In odd-numbered years, the legislature meets for 30 legislative days. Kentuckians can keep up to date with the legislature by visiting or following @KYHouseGOP on Facebook, Twitter, and most major social media outlets.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You May Also Like

Copyright © 2020 Salyersville Independent. All Rights Reserved.