Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Salyersville Independent


Fourteen Hornets earn All-Class 3A, District 8 honors

Senior Ian McCarty gained yardage for Magoffin County during a game in the 2023 high school football season. Photo || Jim Arnett

SALYERSVILLE — Fourteen Magoffin County players have earned All-Class 3A, District 8 honors.

Class 3A, District 8 is comprised of Magoffin County, Belfry, Lawrence County, Powell County and Estill County.

The Hornets showed improvement throughout the 2023 high school football season. During its latest campaign, Magoffin County compiled a 2-2 Class 3A, District 8 record, registering wins over Powell County and Estill County. John DeRossett completed his second season as the head coach of the Hornets in November.

Magoffin County made an appearance in the 2023 KHSAA Class 3A State Football Playoffs. The Hornets will continue to compete in Class 3A, District 8 during the 2024 high school football season.

Magoffin County’s All-Class 3A, District 8 honorees for the 2023 season follow.

All-Class 3A, District 8: Curtis Jenkins, Caleb Perkins, Ian McCarty, Aden Barnett, Brayden Standifer, Brayden Eads, Trey Rudd, Russell Cruz.
All-Class 3A, District 8 Honorable Mention: Jackson Gilliland, Dason Burchett, Benny Rudd, Grady Cole, Braxton Howard, Braxton Montgomery.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You May Also Like

Copyright © 2020 Salyersville Independent. All Rights Reserved.